Lockdown Mode is a setting on iPhones and iPads that makes the device more secure against cyber attacks.
When Lockdown Mode is enabled, some apps and features will function differently, including Messages, web browsing, FaceTime, Apple services, Shared Albums, and device connections.
This mode was designed for people who might be personally targeted by sophisticated digital threats. Apple intended it for Politicians, lawyers, and activists who might be targeted by hackers.
But, another group could benefit from using Lockdown Mode. If you’re a caregiver to someone with reduced mental function, Lockdown Mode can help prevent them from accidentally making changes to important settings or sharing private information.
This mode can also be helpful if you have young children who like to play with your iPhone or iPad. By enabling Lockdown Mode, you can rest assured that they won’t accidentally delete any important files or change any settings. And you can limit what they can access on the device.
How to Turn on Lockdown Mode:
- Open the Settings app.
- Tap Privacy & Security.
- Under Security, tap Lockdown Mode and tap Turn On Lockdown Mode.
- Tap Turn On Lockdown Mode.
- Tap Turn On & Restart, then enter your device passcode.
Here’s what Lockdown Mode changes on your iPhone…
- Messages – Most message attachment types are blocked, other than certain images, video, and audio. Some features, such as links and link previews, are unavailable.
- Web browsing – Certain complex web technologies are blocked, which might cause some websites to load more slowly or not operate correctly. In addition, web fonts might not be displayed, and images might be replaced with a missing image icon.
- FaceTime – Incoming FaceTime calls are blocked unless you have previously called that person or contact.
- Apple services – Incoming invitations for Apple services, such as invitations to manage a home in the Home app, are blocked unless you have previously invited that person.
- Shared Albums – Shared albums are removed from the Photos app, and new Shared Album invitations are blocked. You can still view these shared albums on other devices that don’t have Lockdown Mode enabled. When you turn off Lockdown Mode, you need to turn Shared Albums on again in your device settings.
- Device connections – To connect your iPhone or iPad to an accessory or another computer, the device needs to be unlocked. To connect your Mac laptop with Apple silicon to an accessory, your Mac needs to be unlocked and explicit approval provided.
- Configuration profiles – Configuration profiles can’t be installed, and the device can’t be enrolled in Mobile Device Management or device supervision while in Lockdown Mode.
- Phone calls and plain text messages continue to work while Lockdown Mode is enabled.
- Emergency features, such as SOS emergency calls, are not affected.
Overriding Lockdown Mode
If you’d like to override Locking down certain trusted websites while in Lockdown mode, you can change the settings in… Settings > Privacy & Security > Lockdown Mode > Configure Web Browsing.
Likewise, if there are certain Apps that you don’t want effected by Lockdown Mode, you can override the app by going to… Settings > Privacy & Security > Lockdown Mode > Configure Web Browsing
Lockdown mode will block anyone who hasn’t been called before from the device. So, to override being blocked by Lockdown mode, simply turn off Lockdown Mode, make a FaceTime call to the contact you want to be unblocked, then turn Lockdown mode on again. Now the person you called from the device won’t be blocked if they try to FaceTime you.
Wrapping it Up
Lockdown Mode is a great way to keep your device secure, whether you have young children who like to play with it or you’re a caregiver for someone with reduced mental function.
It’s easy to turn on, and it blocks messages, FaceTime calls, web browsing, and more.
You can override certain settings if you need to, and emergency features are not affected.
Give it a try today!
If you have friends and family that could benefit from using Lockdown Mode with their loved ones, please share this article with them by using the Share Buttons below.
I really appreciate you helping spread the word about my free daily tech tips! 🙂